The wider picture

Cycling through the Chapoutier vineyards

The bicycle might be considered a symbol of slow-paced leisure, but cycling is actually the best way to discover the diversity and incredible variety of the terroirs owned by the Chapoutier estate. With the wind in your hair, the special relationship between wine, vine and soil becomes apparent as you pedal across this beautiful landscape.
Text Hadrien Gonzales  Illustration Caroline Andrieu  Icone temps de lectureEstimated reading time 7 min

Lying twenty kilometers north of Valence, Tain-l’Hermitage is the home of some of the country’s finest wine appellations – Hermitage, Saint-Joseph, Crozes-Hermitage, and Cornas – as well as one of the most prestigious French wineries: Chapoutier. Its hillside vineyards laced with paths form fascinating landscapes, but they are difficult to get to unless you climb onto an electric mountain bike and follow your guide!

Here are three routes you can take starting at the Chapoutier estate. As you go along, you’ll notice the different layers and textures of the surrounding land. When you get back, swirl a glass of wine under your nose and sip its delicious flavour on your taste buds, and your close encounter with the terroir will bring your tasting to life.

CIRCUIT 1
On the Hermitage hill

They say that the Hermitage hill is lit by three suns: the first is the natural star, the second is the reflection of its rays on the River Rhône and the third is how they are reflected by the silica in the ground. Why not take a ramble up the mountainside and see it for yourself? First stage: the Tour du Pavillon, which lends its name to Chapoutier’s “Le Pavillon” cuvée, an AOC Hermitage that is regularly attributed 100/100 by the Parker Guide. The vines cover the uniquely formed slopes that are made up of a thin layer of sediment resting on a granite subsoil. Stone terraces punctuate the landscape and are sometimes evocative of Paul Klee’s paintings.

Since 1991, the Chapoutier vineyards have been converted to biodynamic agriculture, a respectful way of tending the land and interacting with nature to produce the finest wines. You can walk up to the Tour Carrée with a guide from the winery, and see where the elixirs (infusions of valerian, nettle puree, etc.) used for biodynamic vine treatments are stored. The Chante-Alouette plot is there too, which is the house’s oldest wine and was first produced by Marius Chapoutier. He founded the company in 1879 and used to say that a good wine is one you want to taste.

The promontory of the Chapelle Saint-Christophe affords extraordinary views over the Rhône Valley, and all the grapes in the surrounding area are produced by Chapoutier. If you’re lucky, you’ll get to see the estate’s two horses, Tulipe and Cuzco, at work. In spring and summer the grass grows freely, while butterflies and bees flit among the leaves. Reach down and grab a handful of earth (decomposed granite) and slide it between your fingers; you’ll realise just how alive and light the soil is here.

Follow the path to the Pierre-Aiguille mountains and from the lookout point you can see the entire Crozes-Hermitage appellation. But be patient, we’ll get there tomorrow…

CIRCUIT 2
On the road to Crozes-Hermitage

Spread over almost 1,650 hectares and including 11 towns, Crozes-Hermitage is the largest appellation on the slopes of the Northern Rhône. Chapoutier produces six versions of the AOC: “Les Meysonniers” and “Petite Ruche”, in red and “Les Varonniers” and “Sicamor” in white. From Tain, bypassing the Hermitage hill, you’ll cross the vineyards planted with Syrah, Marsanne and Roussanne before reaching the town of Crozes-Hermitage. From the small town, head up the Chemin des Lavoirs until you can enjoy a well-deserved break at the Méjeans viewpoint overlooking the Rhône. Cross the apricot orchards and get the chance to impress your teammates with your local knowledge: the terroir on which these trees are planted is renowned for giving the wine the taste of stone fruit. Likewise, as you reach higher land the pebbles underfoot gradually become granite. The vines then produce fruit with a more mineral taste, and sometimes aromas of gunflint, which is the smell of two pieces of flint rubbing against each other.

Go back down to the village of Gervans – still within the appellation – and visit its pretty little church that dates back to the 1860s. The hydroelectric power station lock spans the river there. Three kilometers further along you will go over the River Rhône again, by means of the impressive Arras dam with its six outlets. From there onwards, the route meanders back to the water's edge in the shade of the trees: this is ViaRhôna, a 815 km cycle path that connects Lake Geneva to the Mediterranean Sea. The beautiful Marc-Seguin footbridge will once again take you across the Rhône, from Tournon and back to the Chapoutier wine store. You’ll take the path in the other direction the next day to discover Saint-Joseph.

CIRCUIT 3
The home of Saint-Joseph

Take the Marc-Seguin suspension bridge over to the Château de Tournon (A) and walk through the village’s picturesque streets. Why not consider this as a little warm-up before you take the departmental road 219 that winds along the mountain’s eastern slope? First stop: the Tour de la Vierge. This is Hermitage in all its glory. Traffic is light on the D219, but visibility around its bends is tricky: make sure you ride in single file and keep well to the right along the granite rock outcrop. Recently renovated pale stone terraces mark out the “Clos” parcel, which is the largest of Chapoutier’s Saint-Joseph vineyards. Further along on the left by the side of the road stands a statue of Saint Joseph, the patron saint of the appellation. He overlooks the city from the protection of his metal cage. Turn right at the sign for the lookout point table. At 300 metres above sea level, the vines disappear to leave space for apricot trees. When the fruit is ready to eat, trucks sell it by the roadside. The view over the valley is breathtaking.

Looking across to the small Hermitage hill you can see that it is actually formed where two hills have come together: the one on the right is topped with Chapoutier’s Tour Carrée, and the chapel stands at the summit of the one on the left (circuit 1). Between the two is the “valley” of Méal, where Chapoutier harvests the grapes for the cuvée of the same name. This landscape is distinguished by its four terroirs: pebbles and granite, which are common in the Rhône Valley, but also clay and limestone. It is one of the only places where the four geological ages can be found in a pocket-size area.

Go back down the same road and take even greater care. When you reach Tournon, turn right and follow the freight railway line. You’ll then be right in the birthplace of the Saint-Joseph appellation. On the right, a large sign displaying the name “M. CHAPOUTIER” stands on the hill, reminiscent of the white letters of “Hollywood” in Los Angeles. The Syrah grapes for the “Granits” cuvée – one of the house’s finest wines – are harvested here. Further along you’ll reach Mauves. Wander through the streets of the village until you find the ViaRhôna and head back towards Tain.

CIRCUITS DETAILS
Each of the circuits can be found on the OpenRunner GPS application
that you can download for free

USEFUL INFO

How
to get around?

Caveau M. Chapoutier

Chapoutier has its own fleet of electric mountain bikes that you can rent daily for groups of up to 6 cyclists. Rental costs €25 per person and a tasting at the cellar bar is included when you return. Guidance during the tasting from a house sommelier is also available at €70 for the group.

Caveau M. Chapoutier, 18, avenue Dr Paul-Durand, 26600 Tain-l’Hermitage.
www.chapoutier.com

Where to say ?

4-star hotel Fac & Spera

The 4-star hotel Fac & Spera has 55 luxury rooms and belongs to M. Chapoutier himself. The influence of the estate can also be seen in the small complimentary bottles of wine that are included in the minibars. Room rates from €106 (depending on the season). The spa is a great place to relax after a day’s pedaling, and outside guests are also welcome at a cost of €20 per person.

1, avenue du Docteur Paul-Durant, 26600 Tain-L’Hermitage. Tel.: +33(0)4 75 08 65 00.
www.hotel.facetspera.fr

Gîtes Chapoutier

Chapoutier has 6 exceptional gites in the heart of the vineyards with facilities ranging from 2 bedrooms (at the very romantic Tour du Pavilion) to 11 bedrooms (L’Ermite 4). From €170 for the weekend (2 nights).

Please contact the winery on +33 (0)4 75 08 92 61 or visit www.chapoutier-gites.com for more information

Where to eat ?

Marius Bistro

At the Fac & Spera, regional cuisine enthusiasts will be delighted with the four variations on ravioli (from €12). On the terrace overlooking the Hermitage hill, customers themselves can grill some exceptional meats from the maturation cellar (from €10.90 per 100 g for Angus beef). There is something for all budgets with an unbeatable menu that includes a starter, a main course and a dessert for just €18. Wine lovers will also be impressed with the list of around 800 bottles from various regions and countries around the world.

www.hotel.facetspera.fr

Le Rond-Pain

The neighbouring restaurant is a wonderful spot to stock up on picnic food before embarking on a long bike ride. We recommend a sandwich filled with caillette pâté, a specialty from the Drôme and Ardèche. Sandwich, drink and dessert: €6.90.

In front of Tain-L'Hermitage station.

Ferraton Père & Fils

On the banks of the Rhône looking out onto the Tournon hill, this beautiful estate offers you a chance to taste its wines and excellent cuisine made with local produce. You can enjoy a starter, a main course and a dessert for €17.

7, quai Arthur-Rostaing, 26600 Tain-l’Hermitage. +33(0)4 75 08 51 93.
www.ferraton.fr

Where
to have a drink ?

Le Dureza

Opened in October 2019, the new Fac & Spera bar takes its name from a Rhône Valley grape variety that was rediscovered by Chapoutier. The drinks menu is the same as the one at Marius Bistro (from €3.50 for the “Marius” IGP Pays d’Oc), with a few rare gems such as durza, naturally, as well as the house gin known as “Sothis”, a Châteauneuf-du-Pape “Barbe Rac” from 1990, the “L'Ermite” cuvée from 1991 and the “De l'Orée” cuvée from 1999. These delights can also be served with an assortment of local cheeses: Picodon, Saint-Marcellin, Bleu de Vercors, etc. (€15 for a board).

www.hotel.facetspera.fr

Grand-format

Chapoutier, quand les vignes se révèlent à vélo

Véritable éloge de la lenteur, au plus près de la nature, la virée à bicyclette s’avère être le plus court chemin pour découvrir toute la diversité et l’incroyable richesse des terroirs de la maison M. Chapoutier. Le nez au vent, toute la complicité entre le vin, les vignes, les sols et la beauté de ces paysages se laisse alors découvrir au fil du pédalier.
Texte Hadrien Gonzales  Illustration Caroline Andrieu  Icone temps de lectureLecture 7 min

À 20 kilomètres au nord de Valence, Tain-l’Hermitage s’impose à la fois comme le berceau de quelques-unes des plus belles appellations viticoles du pays — Hermitage, Saint-Joseph, Crozes-Hermitage, ou encore Cornas — et de l’une des plus prestigieuses maisons de vin françaises, Chapoutier. Ses vignes en coteaux parcourues de sentiers offrent des paysages fascinants, mais généralement peu accessibles… à moins d’enfourcher un VTT à assistance électrique et de suivre le guide !

Voici trois itinéraires au départ du caveau de Chapoutier. Sous les yeux et les pieds du cycliste, ce sont toutes les strates et textures de la terre qui défilent. Pour, une fois de retour chez soi, en faisant tournoyer un vin sous son nez et sur ses papilles, éclairer la dégustation d’une connaissance quasi charnelle des terroirs.

CIRCUIT 1
Sur la colline de l’Hermitage

On raconte que la colline de l’Hermitage est éclairée par trois soleils : le premier est l’astre naturel, le second est le reflet de ses rayons sur le Rhône et le troisième leur réverbération sur les silices du sol. Pour le vérifier, rien de tel que de grimper sur cette petite montagne. Première étape : la tour du Pavillon, qui donne son nom à la cuvée « Le Pavillon » de Chapoutier, AOC Hermitage régulièrement récompensée d’un 100/100 par le Guide Parker. Les vignes s’échelonnent sur les coteaux d’une géologie singulière, constituée de sédiments sur une fine couche reposant elle-même sur un sous-sol granitique. Les terrasses en pierres rythment les paysages et rappellent parfois des tableaux de Paul Klee.

Depuis 1991, le vignoble de Chapoutier a été converti en biodynamie, une méthode de culture respectueuse des sols et de la nature qui permet l’éclosion des plus grands vins. Accompagné d’un guide de la maison, on pourra monter à la Tour carrée, où sont notamment stockés les élixirs (infusions de valériane, purée d’ortie…) qui servent au traitement biodynamique des vignes. C’est ici aussi que se trouve la parcelle de Chante-Alouette, le plus vieux vin de la maison que produisait déjà Marius Chapoutier. Fondateur de l’entreprise en 1879, il avait coutume de dire qu’un bon vin est un vin que l’on a envie de regoûter.

Le promontoire de la chapelle Saint-Christophe, lui, offre un extraordinaire panorama sur la vallée du Rhône. Tous les raisins alentour sont produits par Chapoutier. Avec un peu de chance, on apercevra les deux chevaux de la maison, Tulipe et Cuzco, en plein travail. Au printemps et à l’été, des herbes poussent, papillons et abeilles s’affairent entre les feuilles. Il faut saisir une poignée de terre (du granit décomposé) entre deux pieds de vigne et la faire glisser entre ses doigts pour se rendre compte à quel point le sol est ici vivant et aéré.
En empruntant un chemin pavé, on rallie le massif de Pierre-Aiguille : depuis le belvédère, c’est toute l’appellation Crozes-Hermitage qui s’étend. Mais patience, on s’y rendra demain…

CIRCUIT 2
Sur la route de Crozes-Hermitage

Étendue sur près de 1 650 hectares et 11 communes, Crozes-Hermitage s’impose, par sa superficie, comme la plus grande appellation des crus des côtes du Rhône septentrionales. Chapoutier décline l’AOC en 6 flacons : « Les Meysonniers » et « Petite Ruche », en rouge et en blanc, « Les Varonniers » et « Sicamor ». Depuis Tain, en contournant la colline de l’Hermitage, on traverse les vignes de syrah, marsanne et roussanne pour rallier la commune de Crozes-Hermitage. Depuis le petit bourg, on prend de l’altitude par le chemin des Lavoirs pour s’offrir une pause bien méritée au belvédère des Méjeans qui domine le Rhône. En traversant les champs d’abricotiers, vous aurez l’occasion de briller auprès de vos coéquipiers : le terroir sur lequel sont plantés ces vergers est réputé pour donner au vin le goût du fruit à noyau. De même, à mesure qu’on s’élève, le sol de galets devient de granit. Les vignes donnent alors des jus plus minéraux, avec parfois des arômes de pierre à fusil, l’odeur de deux silex qu’on aurait frottés l’un contre l’autre.

On redescend dans le village de Gervans — toujours dans l’appellation — et sa jolie petite église bâtie dans les années 1860. L’écluse de la centrale hydroélectrique enjambe le fleuve. Trois kilomètres plus loin, on traversera à nouveau le Rhône par l’impressionnant barrage d’Arras et ses six passes, d’où le Rhône coule en cascades. Dès lors, l’itinéraire n’est plus qu’un doux retour au bord de l’eau, à l’ombre des arbres : on se trouve sur la ViaRhôna, cette piste cyclable de 815 km qui relie le lac Léman à la Méditerranée. La belle passerelle Marc-Seguin vous fera franchir une fois encore le Rhône, depuis Tournon jusqu’au caveau Chapoutier. On l’empruntera dans l’autre sens le lendemain pour découvrir Saint-Joseph.

CIRCUIT 3
Dans le berceau de Saint-Joseph

Empruntez le pont suspendu Marc-Seguin pour rejoindre le château de Tournon et parcourir les belles ruelles du village. Cette promenade constitue une petite mise en jambe avant de prendre la départementale 219 qui serpente le long du versant est de la montagne. Premier stop : la tour de la Vierge. L’Hermitage s’offre ici dans toute sa splendeur. Sur la D219, la circulation est faible, mais la visibilité dans les virages aussi : attention à bien rouler en file indienne et serrer à droite le long de l’affleurement de roche granitique. Des terrasses en pierre claire rénovées récemment indiquent la parcelle du « Clos », le plus grand saint-joseph de Chapoutier. Plus loin, à gauche, au bord de l’asphalte, une statue de saint Joseph, le patron de l’appellation, surplombe la ville, protégé dans sa cage en métal. Tourner à droite au panneau indiquant la table d’orientation. À 300 mètres d’altitude, les vignes ont disparu pour laisser place aux abricotiers — en saison, des camions vendent des fruits sur le bas-côté. La vue sur la vallée est imprenable.

On fait face à la petite montagne de l’Hermitage et l’on distingue qu’elle est en réalité formée de la réunion de deux collines : celle de droite est surmontée par la Tour carrée de Chapoutier, celle de gauche par la chapelle (circuit 1). Entre les deux, la « vallée » du Méal, où Chapoutier récolte la cuvée du même nom. Ce paysage se distingue par ses quatre terroirs : galets et granit, répandus dans la vallée du Rhône, mais aussi argile et calcaire. C’est un des seuls endroits où les quatre âges géologiques se retrouvent dans un mouchoir de poche.

Redescendre par la même route avec encore plus de prudence. Arrivé à Tournon, prendre à droite et longer la voie ferrée de fret. Vous êtes en train de traverser le berceau de l’appellation Saint-Joseph. À droite, un grand panneau « M. CHAPOUTIER » flanque la colline, comme à Los Angeles les lettres blanches de « Hollywood ». C’est sur ces terrasses que l’on récolte la syrah des « Granits », un de plus beaux vins de la Maison. Plus loin, on pénètre dans Mauves, se perd dans le petit centre et retrouve la ViaRhôna pour rentrer à Tain.

DÉTAILS DES CIRCUITS
Chacun des circuits est retracé sur l'application GPS
OpenRunner, téléchargeable gratuitement

PRATIQUE

Comment
se déplacer?

Caveau M. Chapoutier

Le caveau Chapoutier dispose de sa propre flotte de VTT électriques, en location à la journée pour les groupes de 6 cyclistes maximum. Compter 25 € par personne avec dégustation au bar du caveau au retour de la promenade. Pour une formule en compagnie d’un sommelier de la maison : 70 € pour le groupe.

Caveau M. Chapoutier, 18, avenue Dr Paul-Durand, 26600 Tain-l’Hermitage.
www.chapoutier.com

Où dormir ?

Hôtel 4 étoiles Fac & Spera

Propriété de M. Chapoutier, l’hôtel 4 étoiles Fac & Spera affiche 55 chambres de standing. On reconnaît la pâte de la Maison aux petites bouteilles de vin généreusement offertes aux hôtes dans les minibars. Chambre à partir de 106 € (selon la saison). Le spa constitue un endroit de prédilection pour se délasser après une journée à pédaler. Il est accessible aux clients extérieurs pour 20 €.

1, avenue du Docteur Paul-Durant, 26600 Tain-L’Hermitage. Tél. : 04 75 08 65 00.
www.hotel.facetspera.fr

Gîtes Chapoutier

Chapoutier possède 6 gîtes exceptionnels au cœur des vignes, allant de 2 couchages (comme dans la très romantique tour du Pavillon) à 11 couchages (L’Ermite 4). À partir de 170 € le week-end (2 nuits).

Renseignements au caveau ou au 04 75 08 92 61 et www.chapoutier-gites.com

Où manger ?

Marius Bistro

À la table du Fac & Spera, les amateurs de cuisine régionale s’enthousiasmeront pour les quatre déclinaisons de ravioles (à partir de 12 €). Sur la terrasse avec vue sur la colline de l’Hermitage, les clients peuvent griller eux-mêmes les viandes d’exception présentées dans la cave de maturation (à partir de 10,90 € les 100 g pour le bœuf angus). Les petites bourses s’y retrouvent, avec un menu imbattable – entrée-plat-dessert à 18 € –, tout comme les grands amateurs de vin, avec une carte riche de quelque 800 bouteilles de régions et pays différents.

www.hotel.facetspera.fr

Le Rond-Pain

Voisin du caveau M. Chapoutier, voici un merveilleux point de ravitaillement où choisir son pique-nique avant le grand tour. On optera pour le sandwich régional à la caillette, grande spécialité charcutière de la Drôme et de l’Ardèche. Formule avec sandwich, boisson et dessert : 6,90 €.

Devant la gare de Tain-L’Hermitage.

Ferraton Père & Fils

Au bord du Rhône, et avec vue sur la colline de Tournon, cette belle maison de vin fait déguster ses crus et une excellente cuisine du marché resserrée chaque jour autour d’une entrée, un plat et un dessert. 17 € la formule.

7, quai Arthur-Rostaing, 26600 Tain-l’Hermitage. 04 75 08 51 93.
www.ferraton.fr

Où boire un verre ?

Le Dureza

Inauguré en octobre 2019, le nouveau bar du Fac & Spera tire son nom d’un cépage de la vallée du Rhône redécouvert par Chapoutier. La carte des boissons est la même qu’au Marius Bistro (à partir de 3,50 € pour l’IGP Pays d’Oc « Marius »), avec quelques raretés comme le dureza, évidemment, le gin « Sothis » de la Maison, un châteauneuf-du-pape « Barbe Rac » de 1990, les cuvées « L’Ermite » de 1991 et « De l’Orée » de 1999. On accompagnera ces réjouissances d’un assortiment de fromages de la région : picodon, saint-marcellin, bleu du Vercors… (15 € la planche).

www.hotel.facetspera.fr